Australia Award

Australian Government Award for
Bachelors/Masters/PhD Degrees

Deadline: 30 Apr 2020 (annual)
Study in:  Australia
Course starts October 2020

Related posts

Brief description: 

The Australia Awards is the cornerstone of the Australian Government’s development assistance program for Africa. It provides access to postgraduate education, training and professional development opportunities for suitably qualified Africans from eligible countries

Australia Awards Scholarships, formerly known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), provide opportunities for people from developing countries, particularly those countries located in the Indo-Pacific region, to undertake full time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

Host Institution(s):

Any of the Participating Australian Institutions

Level/Field(s) of study:

Undergraduate or Postgraduate Programmes that are related to your country’s priority areas for development which are listed on the participating country profiles.

Australia Awards are not available for training in areas related to flying aircraft, nuclear technology or military training.

Number of Scholarships:

Not specified.

Target group:

Citizens of one of the participating countries in Asia, Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East. See the complete list of participating countries.

Scholarship value/inclusions/duration:

The scholarship benefits generally include: full tuition fees, return air travel, establishment allowance, contribution to living expenses (CLE), Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), Introductory Academic Program (IAP), Pre-course English (PCE) fees, etc. See the complete list of benefits at the official website.

The scholarships are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training.


To be eligible to receive a Scholarship, applicants must:

  1. be a minimum of 25 years of age on 1 February of the year of commencing the scholarship;
  2. be a citizen of a participating country (as listed on the Australia Awards website) and be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship;
  3. not be a citizen of Australia, hold permanent residency in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently;
  4. not be married to, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at any time during the application, selection or mobilisation phases (note: residents of Cook Islands, Niue and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship are eligible but must apply for a Student visa [subclass 500]);
  5. not be current serving military personnel;
  6. not have previously received a long-term Australia Award unless they have resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time that they were in Australia (for example, a previous awardee who has been on an Australia Awards Scholarship in Australia for four years will not be eligible to apply for another Australia Awards Scholarship until they have resided outside Australia for eight years);
  7. have satisfied any specific criteria established by the Program Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (e.g. having  worked a certain number of years in an appropriate sector);
  8. All applicant must meet the admission requirements of the institution at which the award is to be undertaken (this may mean that Program Areas will need to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot satisfy the institution’s admission requirements. This may not be known until Program Areas request a placement at selected institutions);
  9. All applicant must satisty all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs to hold a Student Visa. Australia Award is mandated to withdraw an award offer if the recipient cannot satisfy the visa requirements;
  10. Do not Apply for a scholarship for a course of study at an academic level lesser than they have already achieved (eg be applying for a Master’s scholarship when they already hold a PhD); and
  11. All applicants must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship to staff employed at Program Areas (including locally engaged staff at post) or with managing contractors so that the application may be properly and transparently managed.

Read the complete eligibility criteria in the Australia Awards Policy Handbook (PDF)

Application instructions:

Check the open and closing dates for your country, and select your country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries for specific information on eligibility, priority areas and how to apply. Deadline varies per country. The deadline for most countries is 30 April 2020 except for Vanuatu (March 31). Africa applications has already closed on 6 December 2019.

Opening and closing dates

CountryOpening dateClosing dateContact
Africa (Masters study)1 October 20196 December 2019[email protected]
Bangladesh1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Bhutan1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Cambodia1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Federated States of Micronesia1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Fiji1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Indonesia1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Kiribati1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Laos1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Maldives1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Marshall Islands1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Mongolia1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Myanmar 1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Nauru1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Nepal1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Pakistan1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Palestinian Territories1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Papua New Guinea1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Philippines1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Republic of Palau1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Samoa1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Solomon Islands1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Sri Lanka1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Timor-Leste1 February 201930 April 2019[email protected]
Tonga1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected] or [email protected]
Tuvalu1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Vanuatu1 February 202031 March 2020[email protected]
Vietnam1 February 202030 April 2020[email protected]
Wallis and Futuna1 February 202030 April 2020

It is important to read the how to apply page  and visit the country specific pages, and the official website (link found below) for detailed and updated information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website:

Related Scholarships: Australia Scholarships for International Students

Sharing is Caring


Related Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.